Requiem for Ted Taylor

REQUIEM FOR TED TAYLOR
By Emily Crosby

Dear Red Squirrel,
I’ll miss you here at The Lake,
Tho’ I saw so little of you of late.

Remembering now the crib you won,
Community C.B.’s, and lots of fun.

Your Dad was my beau, so long long ago,
And you often remind me of him you know.

Your Grandparents too, come to mind,
They lived just two doors down from mine.

In all my years of growing up I saw them daily,
and got along fine.

Two miles to school with all the crew,
Roberts, Cote’s, Kobars, and Maxwells too.

All these folks will miss your going,
Remembering courage in all your doings.

You handled the knocks, and hurts and bashing,
Your “guts” and pride we’ll be rememberin.

May the place you’ve gone be a happy retreat,
And replace this life with heavenly sweets.

-Muckluck

Note: Red Squirrel was Ted’s CB name.

About Linda C Butler

I write pioneer stories from the Herb Lake Ghost Town. Please do not re-blog this material or re-publish without my permission.
This entry was posted in Herb Lake Ghost Town, HL Landing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

